College kids and Starbucks

Okay, so I go to school right next to a college campus, and the Starbucks across the street is a hub of kids in vests and riding boots, and Adidas pants and Nike shoes. So-called “Hipsters” are the cliche patrons of this establishment, and I don’t really know why.
I mean, I have a Starbucks card, practically daily I come in to get my trenta black sweetened ice tea, or my grande peppermint mocha with whipped cream, because it is actually quality. Once I experienced the fresh brewed taste of the iced tea I cannot buy the sugary mix that comes in a box. Starbucks ruined it for me. What I don’t get is why an overwhelming number of MacBook airs and infinity scarves walk through these doors and not through the doors of, perhaps, a Dunkin donuts or a McDonalds.
I haven’t really come to a conclusion but I can say this, there is definitely an air of sophistication in Starbucks, and the comfy chairs and local art gives a feel of giving back to the community. Pair that with good coffee and cool size names and you have a hit. My hometown is also a fairly middle-upper and upper-class suburb, and the expensive prices definitely draw in a crowd that wants to feel superior in every way possible. “You go to Dunkin? Aren’t their coffees like 99 cents? My coffee was specially made and costed $7.45.” Sounds like something a Starbucks customer would say.
But, no matter what social media says about white girls and frappuccinos, Starbucks’ CEO is still probably taking a bath in money right now.

-Beth

Leave a comment